Mahinda Rajapaksa sworn in as the Prime Minister of Sri Lanka for the fourth time

 09 Aug 2020 ( IBTN Bureau )

74-year-old leader of Sri Lanka People's Party (SLPP) Mahinda Rajapaksa was sworn in as the country's Prime Minister for the fourth time on Sunday.

The swearing-in ceremony was held for the Ninth Parliament of Sri Lanka at the historic Buddhist temple 'Rajmaha Vihar' in Kelaniya, a suburb of North Colombo.

The younger brother of Mahinda Rajapaksa and Sri Lankan President Gotabhaya Rajapaksa administered him the oath of Prime Minister. After this the two brothers prayed together in Rajmaha Vihar.

The entire program was broadcast live from the official Facebook page of Sri Lankan President Gotabaya Rajapaksa. On this occasion, the entire Rajapaksa family was present in Rajmaha Vihar.

For the past two decades, the Rajapaksa family has had a good grasp of Sri Lankan politics. Political analysts believe that their hold on Sri Lankan power will be further strengthened.

His party-led coalition won a resounding victory in the Sri Lankan general election with a two-thirds majority. In Sri Lanka, 68 lakh voters exercised their franchise and the voting percentage was 59.9.

It is believed that this two-thirds majority will prove to be important for the constitutional amendment to strengthen and strengthen the Rajapaksa family's hold on power.

According to local media, there will be an oath-taking program of new cabinet members in Sri Lanka on Monday, after which the state and deputy ministers will take oath. The newly elected government has decided to limit the number of ministers in the cabinet to 26.

However it can be increased to 30 under the provisions of the 19th constitution amendment.

Namal Rajapaksa, the successor of the Rajapaksa family and son of Mahinda Rajapaksa, also won from Hambantota in the general election held on August 5.

The biggest setback in Sri Lanka's parliamentary elections has been the United National Party (UNP) of former Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe, which won only one seat.

Sri Lanka's oldest party has failed to win a single seat in 22 districts.

Its leader, a four-time prime minister, has suffered a defeat for the first time since 1977.


(Click here for Android APP of IBTN. You can follow us on facebook and Twitter)

Share This News

About sharing


Perwez Anwer Live On IBTN KHABAR