Gautam Gambhir will be the next head coach of Team India

 09 Jul 2024 ( Perwez Anwer, MD & CEO, IBTN GROUP )

Gautam Gambhir will be the next head coach of Team India

Tuesday, July 9, 2024

BCCI Secretary in India Jay Shah has informed on the social media platform X that former cricketer Gautam Gambhir will be the next head coach of the Indian cricket team.

He wrote in his post, "I am extremely happy to welcome Gautam Gambhir as the head coach of the Indian cricket team. Modern cricket is changing rapidly and Gautam has seen this changing landscape closely."

"Having endured difficulties throughout his career and performed brilliantly in different roles, I am confident that Gautam is the ideal person to take Indian cricket forward."

"His clear vision and vast experience for Team India make him fully capable of taking on this exciting coaching role. The Board of Control for Cricket in India fully supports him for this new journey."

Gautam Gambhir's name was being discussed for the responsibility of head coach for the last few days.

Gautam Gambhir joined the Bharatiya Janata Party in 2019 and was also elected MP from East Delhi. He was also close to the most powerful person in the government and the BCCI. After this he left politics.

At the Forbes Leadership Event, Gautam Gambhir had said, "I also tried my luck in politics. One thing I can say is that I never gave up. I tried to give as much as I could with good intentions and with all honesty. But yes, sometimes at a point you have to decide what is closer to your heart...and my heart is with cricket and I returned to cricket.''

At an event in Abu Dhabi in early June 2024, Gautam Gambhir said, "I would love to become the coach of the Indian team. There is no greater honour than coaching your national team. You are representing 140 crore Indians and Indians living outside the country."

The new coach of the Indian cricket team will get a chance to work for three consecutive years. Even the most successful coaches of Indian cricket - John Wright, Gary Kirsten, Ravi Shastri and Rahul Dravid did not get such a generous tenure.


(Click here for Android APP of IBTN. You can follow us on facebook and Twitter)

Share This News

About sharing


Al Jazeera English | Live