Four regions of Ukraine - Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson and Zaporizhia are now part of Russia: President Putin

 30 Sep 2022 ( News Bureau )

Russian President Vladimir Putin on Friday, 30 September 2022 announced that four regions of Ukraine – Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson and Zaporizhia – are now part of Russia.

He said, “People from four regions of Ukraine have made their decision. The results of the referendum are well known. The people have made the choice. The only decision.''

Referendums in these four regions of Ukraine controlled by Russia have been declared illegal by Western countries and legal experts. Putin was speaking from the Kremlin in Moscow.

"I have full confidence that the Federal Assembly will support these four new regions of Russia because it is the will of millions of people," he said.

He said the referendum results reflect the "natural right" of those who have cast their vote in it. Putin also mentioned history in his address.

He claimed that generations of Russian people have fought for these areas. He appealed for a minute's silence in the memory of the soldiers killed in this war. Putin said that these soldiers were the heroes of Russia.

Putin said he wanted the people of Kiev and the West to hear that the people of the Donbass region would now become citizens of Russia forever.

He said that "Russia will defend its land in every way possible so that our people can live in a safe way. Russia will rebuild villages and cities in these regions and develop health and education infrastructure.''


(Click here for Android APP of IBTN. You can follow us on facebook and Twitter)

Share This News

About sharing


Al Jazeera English | Live

Copyright © 2024 IBTN World All rights reserved. Powered by IBTN Media Network & IBTN Technology. The IBTN is not responsible for the content of external sites. Read about our approach to external linking