Announcement of Lok Sabha Elections 2019 in India: Elections from April 11; May 23 results

 10 Mar 2019 ( IBTN Bureau )

2019 Lok Sabha elections in India will be in seven phases. This is announced by India's Chief Election Commissioner Sunil Arora.

Votes will be cast for the first phase on April 11, while on May 19, the votes will be cast for the seventh phase. Counting of votes will take place on May 23. There will be elections for Lok Sabha as well as Odisha, Arunachal Pradesh, Sikkim and Andhra Pradesh Assembly.

In three major states, Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal and Bihar, there will be a voting in seven phases.

In the Press Conference, Sunil Arora gave a lot of information about the dates of general elections and preparations for the elections with his two colleagues.

900 million people will vote for the formation of the 17th Lok Sabha. 15 million voters of 18 to 19 years will participate in this election for the first time. According to the Chief Election Commissioner, eight crore 43 lakh new voters will use their franchise this time.

Votes will be cast on 10 lakh polling booths. VVPAT will be used on every polling booth.

You can get information related to the voting list at the 1950 toll free number.

Any person can give information about the violation of Code of Conduct through an Android app. The identity of the complainant will not be revealed. Action will be taken by checking it on.

Also EVM machine will be tracked through GPS.

Banning the loudspeaker 48 hours before voting. The CRPF will be deployed at every sensitive location.

Election Commission will also monitor social media publicity of political parties and candidates. In addition, the Election Commissioner told that Facebook-Google has given us complete assurance to monitor the content specially considering the elections.

Last year, the 2014 Lok Sabha election was announced on March 5, 2014. Polling started on April 7 and ended on May 12 in nine phases. On May 16, the Bharatiya Janata Party had got a majority in the results and the NDA government was formed with other allies. The BJP got 282 seats in these elections.

According to the Constitution of India, the maximum number of Lok Sabha seats can be 552. At present, the number of Lok Sabha seats are 545, of which all the States and Union Territories have general elections for 543 seats. Apart from these, if the President thinks that the people of the Anglo-Indian community are not represented in the Lok Sabha, they can also nominate two people.

Out of the total seats, 131 Lok Sabha seats are reserved. In these 131, there are 84 seats reserved for Scheduled Castes and 47 for Scheduled Tribes. That is, in these seats, only Scheduled Caste and Scheduled Tribe candidates can contest elections.

Any party needs at least 272 seats for a majority in the Lok Sabha. If some seats are reduced by a majority, then the government can be formed by combine with other parties. Coalition of political parties can happen even before the elections and even after the results. To take the post of Leader of the Opposition in the Lok Sabha, the opposition party should have at least 10% of the total seats, that is, 55 seats. In the 2014 general elections, the main opposition party Congress could get only 44 seats.

BJP had secured majority with 282 seats in 2014, but only 268 members of Bharatiya Janata Party have remained in the Lok Sabha. BJP lost some seats in the bypoll. Some of the BJP members like BS Yeddyurappa and B. Sriramulu have resigned from the Lok Sabha to contest the assembly elections. But even then with the support of coalition political parties, the BJP government is safe.

The Indian democratic system is based on the British Westminster model. Elections are held in one day for the common election in the UK, exit polls comes in evening, and by counting night and night, people get election results till next morning.

But this does not happen in India. Voting is conducted in many stages in such a large country to maintain security arrangements during voting. Electronic voting machines, i.e. EVM, are kept safe till the counting of votes after every phase polling.

As per the directive of the Election Commission, Exit Polls can now be broadcast only after last polls. After a few days, counting starts from the morning.

When elections were held from the ballots, then the trends were come in the evening and the results were take more time. But due to the EVM now the trends become clear till noon and the results are also known till evening.


(Click here for Android APP of IBTN. You can follow us on facebook and Twitter)

Share This News

About sharing


Perwez Anwer Live On IBTN KHABAR